Goal setting

Back after a long hiatus. I think I tried to do too much too quickly (in blogging here & elsewhere and in life) and started to feel overwhelmed. Let’s try this again, shall we?

I’m on a break right now where I at least in theory can focus on some of my own goals for growth. Over the months my physical work sorta went down the tubes and scheduling conflicts have kept me from some of my regular stage combat work, so I feel like my strength & stamina need to be built back up again. However I have been walking regularly again, and last week I did my first run in a long time.  Nutritionally I’m currently vegetarian, working on improving my intake to fuel myself for what I want to do.

I’m going to start simply here… Physical activity 6 days/week. Ideally moderate activity 3+d/week, walking 10,000 steps the remaining days. (I am saying my goal out loud here so I stick to it!)

There is so much that I want to do, so much that I want to accomplish. Strength goals, skill goals, life goals. I have some pretty badass rolemodels in fiction & real life to look up to. And it’s hard not to do everything at once.  But I have to remember:

Growth Takes Time.
growth takes time

There’s also a Sanskrit saying of an amazing belly dancer (Rachel Brice) that states: “Practice becomes firmly grounded when continued for a long time, without interruption and with reverent devotion.” What does it matter if someone makes a lifestyle change that doesn’t stick? Amazing things can happen if you just keep at what you’re doing. Eventually I would love to have a practice of something that I can do with the level of devotion described in the quote, but right now it’s about getting my foot in the door.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

