Ramping up

Working on building my running base though I’ve been going out to run much less often than I’d like. Coordinating schedules and health between my husband and myself has been tough, especially sine he’s more weather-averse than I am as far as running goes. We’ve really only been running 1-2 times per week, and I’d like to do at least 3. The other consequence of trying to assess day by day whether we’ll run is that I haven’t been doing much in the way of leg work because it’s always “well, we’ll run tomorrow.”

Well you know what? I’m resolving to kick that in the ass. Cut the excuses. Even if there are lots of days we can’t run, I’m going to do SOMETHING every day. Even gentle yoga if that’s all I feel up to. I’ll allow one full rest day a week if I need it. (Framing this way because it’s an aim).

In the meantime I’ve been keeping my motivation up. Logging my steps, runs and food. Subscribed to a running magazine, letting the pictures and stories inspire me. I’m also starting to build a fund of woman-positive and body-positive sites for running, strength training, and combat. All things useful for prospective shieldmaidens.

I would also like to point out that there’s a new awards show next month called the Artemis Awards. They’ll be honoring the original Sarah Connor herself, Linda Hamilton. They’ll also be giving “Unsung Hero” awards, which I think is a great idea especially because stunt actors don’t get enough credit by the movie industry for the amazing things they do to make movies work. See more here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

