weight and emotion

Setbacks are really hard emotionally. They make you want to quit. Gaining weight – I don’t know if that’s due to extra snacking 2-3 days this past week, faulty scale (we did just have to change the batteries today) or what, but it hurts to see work undone in the form of numbers. From a personal tracking standpoint, I know that can be why people quit tracking (let alone quit a diet or exercise effort) – when numbers don’t make sense, or don’t reflect how hard you’ve been working.

I just have to remember that the numbers aren’t what it’s all about. It’s about being able to outrun zombies, wield a lightsaber effectively in battle, etc. It’s about feeling like you can do more than when you started. I ran today (in the snow) and felt pretty great doing it (during – mostly, afterwards – definitely!). Size be damned. I’m tracking the numbers out of curiosity, and snapshotting, not because a certain number will make me a superhero. That’s how eating disorders are made. And that’s not me.

Also, just because I googled “jedi weight loss” just to see what it would give me, this is actually great practical advice in a geeky framing: http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2013/05/09/5-jedi-mind-tricks/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

